The Evolution of “Free Time”

10940565_10152560878573038_929884811307394105_n I shit you not, that is really me. I am wearing ice skates on the rink at Rockefeller Center.

10940485_10152564000948038_2882937106515537256_n

And also we got Michael C. Hall’s autograph. I mean. 

We spent the weekend in NYC to see Michael C. Hall’s final performance in Hedwig and the Angry Inch. We got lost around Manhattan both on and not on purpose. I walked — still without a cane — around miles of city blocks. We came across a flea market in the Upper West Side, and dined in a tiny Indian restaurant once visited by Vice President Al Gore. We had gluten free NY-style pizza in Brooklyn and saw a cousin I haven’t laid eyes on in twenty years. I had a cocktail with dear college friends before heading to the Belasco theater.

Oh, and the walking included ALL OF THE SUBWAY STAIRS. A realistic tally would be (really) 100 stairs each day. Over the entire course of the weekend, despite the amount of time spent walking I never lost sensation from the waist-down.

I’mma need to repeat that with italics: I never lost sensation from the waist-down. Since 2005, it would only take about .25m of ambling before I began to lose feeling in my hips, then thighs, calves, and feet (and eventually the feet stopped being a part of the process altogether; I simply couldn’t feel them and relied on trusting the reality in which I of course had feet). The first time I noticed it was during a long trip to Home Depot, and it was at least another year before I admitted it aloud (saying it out loud would make it real).

Back to the ice skating thing: Now, the biggest mistake I made was putting on skates a size too big. I only made it around the rink once before I was afraid of breaking a shin.

Ice-termath, both shins

I have so much to be grateful for right now that I can believe remaining troublesome symptoms that have not yet resolved might actually improve. Visual focus and diplopia, nighttime spastic bladder are both still problems. I still get ungodly dizzy… but a little less often. I have started feeding the dogs with fewer problems changing directions and bending over without internal tragedy. I have been without gluten for about three months, and I am only doing my best at eating 9 cups of vegetables a day. But it’s becoming an easier rhythm the more I stick to it — and the better I feel, the more I want to not cheat on this diet. My mom thanked God and Dr. Wahls in the same breath when she saw the picture of me on ice skates.

Back to the ice skating thing: Now, the biggest mistake I made was putting on skates a size too big. I only made it around the rink once before I was afraid of breaking a shin. But I went around the rink once without once touching the rink with my bottom. Shins aside, this is a total win.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

